The New York Fire Museum has been around since 1934, when it first opened in Long Island City under a different name. Soon after, it moved to Lower Manhattan. The main goal of the Fire Museum is to promote the rich history and culture of New York’s fire service. Additionally, the museum works to educate the public on fire safety.
To make the move to Lower Manhattan, a nonprofit organization called Friends of the New York City Fire Department Collection started. This nonprofit organization worked to raise funds to repurpose and restore an old firehouse on Spring Street. As a result, today the Fire Museum features an elaborate collection of fire memorabilia. All artifacts within the museum were given to the museum as donations from groups like the Home Insurance Company.
The Fire Museum also dedicates exhibitions to the evolution of firefighters and their techniques since the years of Peter Stuyvesant’s establishment of New Amsterdam. Additionally, the museum has a special exhibition displaying a memorial for the 343 fallen firefighters who were present during 9/11. In this exhibition are also a number of artifacts that detectives uncovered in the rubble of 9/11.